The Laboratory Operations Branch of MDOT Materials Division has a significant role in accomplishing the overall goals of MDOT.  The Laboratory Operations Branch is responsible for the following:
  1. Sampling, testing, inspection and reporting of materials produced at plants which are assigned to the Central Laboratory
  2. Testing and reporting of all samples submitted by the MDOT Districts’ laboratories
  3. Operation of the independent assurance sampling and testing program
  4. Publishing information, directives, test procedures, sampling procedures, and materials inspection procedures in order to accomplish statewide uniformity
  5. Advising and assisting MDOT Districts laboratories in the sampling and testing of materials
  6. Evaluation of new products and procedures
The Laboratory Operation Branch is also known as the Central Laboratory, and the Central Laboratory is the primary construction materials laboratory for the MDOT.   The Laboratory Operations Branch consists of the following testing sections: asphalt, cement, chemical, concrete, geotechnical, physical, soils, independent assurance and sampling (IAS) and quality. 
 
The Laboratory Operations Branch complies with American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) R 18, Standard Recommended Practice for Establishing and Implementing a Quality System for Construction Materials Testing Laboratories and MDOT’s Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) and American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) C 1077 Standard Practice for Agencies Testing Concrete and Concrete Aggregates for Use in Construction and Criteria for Testing Agency Evaluation and ASTM D 3666 Standard Specification for Minimum Requirements for Agencies Testing and Inspecting  Road and Paving Materials and ASTM C 1222 Standard Practice for Evaluation of Laboratories Testing Hydraulic Cement In doing so, the Laboratory Operations Branch is a AASHTO Materials Reference Laboratory (AMRL) and Cement and Concrete Materials Reference Laboratory (CCRL) accredited laboratory.
 
Laboratory Operations Branch is instrumental in the continuing education and training classes administered  by  American Concrete Institute (ACI), Mississippi Concrete Association (MCA),   and   Mississippi Asphalt Pavement Association (MAPA).
 
Please contact the following Laboratory Operations Branch employees if you have any questions:
 
 
Section​ ​ Contact Name Contact Email
Asphalt Laboratory

​Tommy Potter

Cass Coon

tpotter@mdot.ms.gov

ccoon@mdot.ms.gov

​Cement Laboratory

​Jessie Wesley

Will Crawley

jwesley@mdot.ms.gov

wcrawley@mdot.ms.gov

Chemical Laboratory​ ​Doug Miller

wmiller@mdot.ms.gov

Concrete Laboratory

Concrete Section Description.pdfConcrete Section Description.pdf

​Darryl Thompson

Will Crawley

DaThompson@mdot.ms.gov

wcrawley@mdot.ms.gov

Geotechnical Laboratory

​Morise Jobe

Ian LaCour

mjobe@mdot.ms.gov

ilacour@mdot.ms.gov

​Independent Assurance Sampling (IAS) ​John Byrd jbyrd@mdot.ms.gov
Physical Laboratory​​​

​Mark Hagg

Roberto Lamanilao

mhagg@mdot.ms.gov

rlamanilao@mdot.ms.gov

Soil Laboratory​

​Randy Dixon

Griffin Sullivan

rdixon@mdot.ms.gov

wsullivan@mdot.ms.gov

 
 
 

​ ​