The Geotechnical Operation Branch of Materials Division is the primary geotechnical services provided to the MDOT. They consist of management, drilling, laboratory, and design.
 
 
Geotechnical Operations Staff
(Management/Lab/Design)
 
 
 
State Geotechnical Engineer
sferguson_LThumb.jpg Sean Ferguson, PE
601-359-1796
sferguson@mdot.ms.gov
 
 
Senior Geotechnical Design Engineer
mstroud_LThumb.jpg Mike Stroud, PE
601-359-1796
mstroud@mdot.ms.gov
Geotechnical Design Engineer
wwheatley_LThumb.jpg William Wheatley, PE
601-359-1796
wwheatley@mdot.ms.gov
Geotechnical Field Engineer
jbrichardson_LThumb.jpg Jay Richardson, PE
601-359-1796
jbrichardson@mdot.ms.gov
 
 
Geotechnical Laboratory Engineer
ilacour_LThumb.jpg Ian LaCour, EIT
601-359-1796
ilacour@mdot.ms.gov
Geotechnical Engineering Technician
scummins_LThumb.jpg Sean Cummins
601-359-1796
scummins@mdot.ms.gov
Geotechnical Administrator
NO_PHOTO.png Alex Aguilar
601-359-1796
aaguilar@mdot.ms.gov
 
 
Geotechnical Laboratory Director
mjobe_LThumb.jpg Morise Jobe
601-359-1796
mjobe@mdot.ms.gov
Geotechnical Engineering Technician
mldavis_LThumb.jpg Lee Davis
601-359-1796
mldavis@mdot.ms.gov
Geotechnical Design Contract Worker
msullivan_LThumb.jpg Mike Sullivan, PE
601-359-1796
msullivan@mdot.ms.gov
 
 
 
 
Geotechnical Drill Crew Staff
 
 
Head of Drilling Operations
jcravey_LThumb.jpg James Cravey
601-359-1796
jcravey@mdot.ms.gov
Drill Crew Chiefs
Joe Mix and Corey Clark
601-359-1796
 
 
 
 
 
The Geotechnical Operations Branch of Materials Division has a significant role in accomplishing the overall goals of the MDOT and is responsible for the following:
  1. Statewide geotechnical operations.
  2. Sub-surface exploration.
  3. Obtain test samples from drilling operations.
  4. Test samples in the laboratory.
  5. Design structures based on the site investigation, exploration, and test results. Structures include, but are not limited to, landslides, sinkholes, soil liquefaction, bridges, and foundations.